Each year the Australian Marine Sciences Association proudly presents awards to individuals recognising outstanding contributions to marine science in Australia. AMSA members are encouraged to submit nominations for the following AMSA awards. The annual call for nominations - closes 15th March each year unless noted otherwise in the individual award criteria. Award selection committees, appointed by AMSA Council, are constituted to review nominations. These awards are presented at the AMSA Annual Conference each year.
Currently AMSA presents the following awards:

AMSA Jubilee Award

AMSA Technical Award

AMSA Emerging Leader in Marine Science Award

AMSA Excellence in Sea Country Award

AMSA Allen Award for Outstanding Student 

Annual Conference Student Prizes


2021 AMSA Award Winners

2020 AMSA Award Winners

2019 AMSA Award Winners

2018 AMSA Award Winners

2017 AMSA Award Winners



 2021 AMSA Awards Winners!!

AMSA Jubilee Award 2021

First awarded in AMSA's Silver Jubilee Year (1988) our professional award recognises excellence in marine research and is presented to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to marine research in Australia. 

Professor Mike Kingsford

College of Science and Engineering
ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
James Cook University

The 2021 Jubilee Award winner is Professor Mike Kingsford from the College of Science and Engineering and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University, for his significant and novel contributions to larval fish ecology, biogeography, and connectivity in Australian and New Zealand waters. 


AMSA Emerging Leader in Marine Science Award 2021

This is a new award established in 2020 presented to an early or mid-career scientist in recognition of their outstanding reserach and academic achievements in marine science and the translation of their research for engagement outside of academia and mentoring of other young scientists.

Dr Jennifer Donelson

ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
James Cook University

The 2021 Emerging Leader in Marine Science is Dr Jennifer Donelson from James Cook University for her transformative research on transgenerational plasticity in fishes combined with her service and leadership to the marine science community. 



AMSA Technical Award 2021 

This award recognises the outstanding achievements in the field of technical support to marine science in Australia. It was first awarded in 2009. This prize serves to emphasize the valuable contribution to marine science made by those who provide the technical and logistical support services that make much research possible. 

Joshua Aldridge

University of Technology Sydney

The 2021 Technical Award winner is Joshua Aldridge from the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) for his years of service leading and supporting a range of projects related to the maintenance and repair of seawater systems and field equipment at UTS, Macquarie University and the Sydney Institute of Marine Science (SIMS).