National Council

Composition of Council 

The Australian Marine Sciences Association is governed by a Council comprising an Executive and Councillors. Each year the executive and a maximum of ten councillors are elected at the Annual General Meeting. As far as practicable, Council includes representatives from all Australian States and Territories. Council is chaired by the AMSA President, who is elected by members each year.

Inaugural AMSA Patron 2007 to 2018 - Professor Joe Baker AO, OBE, FTSE, FRACI, C.Chem.

AMSA National Council 

  • President - for a maximum of two consecutive one-year terms
  • Immediate Past President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Communications Officer (Bulletin Editor)
  • General Council members (10 positions)

The roles of Council are documented and outlined hereMembers of the AMSA 2022-2023 Council

National Council Meetings

Council meets three times a year, including once during AMSA's annual conference. Highlights of the minutes of its meetings are published in the Australian Marine Science Bulletin and a full transcript is available to members on request.

National Council Nominations

Nominations for AMSA Council positions are invited prior to the Annual General Meeting. Nominations are to be submitted to the AMSA Secretary at least 21 days prior to each Annual General Meeting.

Nomination Form for election of AMSA Councillors (2023-2024)

AMSA Past Councils

2021-20222020-20212019-20202018-20192017-2018, 2016-20172015-20162014-2015, 2013-2014, 2012-20132011-20122010-20112009-20102008-20092007-2008, 2006-20072005-20062004-20052003-20042002-20032001-20022000-2001, 1999-2000, 1998-1999, 1997-19981996-1997, 1995-1996, 1994-1995, 1993-1994, 1992-1993, 1991-1992, 1990-1991, 1989-1900, 1988-1989, 1987-1988, 1986-1987, 1985-1986, 1984-1985, 1983-1984, 1982-1983, 1981-1982, 1980-1981