Western Australia

Recent news!

2018 AMSA WA Honours/Masters Prize Night- 24th April

Twelve abstracts were submitted by students from four universities (ECU, UWA, Curtin and Murdoch) for the 2018 AMSA WA Honours/Masters Prize Night. This year showcased a very high quality of research from five finalists, proving a difficult task for the guest judges to score prize winners! A big thank you to our sponsors of the event, MScience and BMT, and a big congratulations to all five finalists:

1st- Adam Koziol- Curtin- Substrate selection is a critical consideration for the use of environmental DNA in marine biomonitoring

2nd - Claire Greenwell-  Murdoch- Octopus as predators of Haliotis laevigata on an abalone sea ranch of south-western Australia

3rd- Phoebe Beurteaux-  A genetic tool that assists with the conservation of the critically endangered Hairy Marron
 
Finalist- Nicole Said- ECU- The effect of temperature & latitude on the photosynthesis irradiance relationship in Halophila ovalis
 
Finalist- Brodee Elsdon- Curtin- Southern right whale (Eubalaena australis) movement and site fidelity at two aggregation areas in south-western Australia

  

WA Branch Contact Details 2018-19

Chair

Alicia

Sutton

alicialouisesutton@gmail.com

Vice Chair

Robert 

Pemberton

rjpemberton88@googlemail.com

Treasurer

Tiffany

Simpson

tiffany.schenk@gmail.com

Secretary

 Sian 

Glazier 

 S.Glazier@murdoch.edu.au

General Committee

Matthew

Harveymatt@oceanvision.com.au 

 

James

Tweedley

J.Tweedley@murdoch.edu.au

 

Ben

Roennfeldt

broennfeldt@gmail.com

 

Jo

Buckee

jo.buckee@cardno.com.au

 

ElizabethSinclairesinclair@iinet.net.au

 Student Representatives

Roisin

McCallumr.mccallum@ecu.edu.au   ECU
 

Krista

NicholsonK.Nicholson@murdoch.edu.au MURDOCH
MichaelBrookermichael.brooker@research.uwa.edu.au UWA

 

CharlotteBirkmanis

cabirkmanis@gmail.com  UWA

 ShannonDee

shannon.dee@postgrad.curtin.edu.au  CURTIN

 David Juszkiewicz

d.j.juszkiewicz@gmail.com   CURTIN