Western Australia

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

Welcome to the AMSA Western Australia Branch

Follow us on Facebook

The Western Australian Branch of the Australian Marine Sciences Association (AMSA WA) has approximately 150 members and is the peak body representing marine scientists in Western Australia. AMSA WA has a broad membership incorporating the public, private and tertiary (professional and student) sectors.

What we do:

AMSA WA is responsible for the organisation and promotion of a wide range of activities related to the marine environment including;

  • Preparing submissions concerning marine conservation, developments, and other related matters.
  • Hosting regular Branch events at institutions such as Universities, Local and State Government venues to socialise and hear seminars from members and others.
  • Holding regular Council meetings to discuss issues in marine science.
  • Supporting student members by holding relevant workshops including the annual Student Workshop hosted on Rottnest Island (open to all ASMA student members).
  • Offering careers advice to university and high school students.
  • Keeping the media informed of hot issues in marine science.
  • An annual student award to an Honours or Master’s student enrolled at a Western Australian university.


Upcoming Events:

May 9th 2024 – AMSA WA Annual General Meeting and Student Prize Night,

Held at the Indian Ocean Marine Research Centre, UWA Crawley Campus


To get in touch with the WA Branch, please email wa@amsa.asn.au



WA Branch Committee 2023-2024: (AGM Held: Wednesday 26th July 2023)

President Michael Brooker Harvest Road Oceans
Vice President Shannon Dee Edith Cowan University
Secretary Rachel Newsome Murdoch University
Treasurer David Juszkiewicz Curtin University
General Committee Alicia Sutton Carijoa
  Matt Harvey Ocean Vision
Shirley Dawe Hydrobiology
Aidan Long Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development – Fisheries
Anna Ortega University of Western Australia
Jo Buckee TLA Environmental
Tegan Lee Murdoch University
Student Representative  Nico Fassbender University of Western Australia
Jessica Pearce University of Western Australia
Amy Carmigianni University of Western Australia
Ciara Fegredo University of Western Australia
Caitlyn O-Dea Murdoch University
Raphael Clement Edith Cowan University
Kautilya Srivastava University of Western Australia
Molly-Mae Baker University of Western Australia