Northern Territory

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

Welcome to the Northern Territory Branch

Follow us on Facebook

The Northern Territory (NT) branch of the Australian Marine Sciences Association, although small in numbers, has a vast wealth of experience in coastal and marine studies. Members are from a variety of host institutions in the NT and cross many disciplines. We also encourage an active student membership.

AMSA NT aims to promote all aspects of marine science in the Northern Territory. Our activities include:

  1. Public promotion of marine science in the NT – i.e. public seminars & events, website, media stories, ‘Science Week’.
  2. Mentoring of ‘early-career’ marine scientists.
  3. Peer support and networking
  4. Social events, fund-raising (eg. To support student members – national conference attendance).
  5. Targetted field days.
  6. Symposiums & workshops.
  7. NT AMSA Newsletter.
  8. Formal comment on NT marine development assessments (ie. INPEX).
  9. Formal comment on NTG policies, strategies & plans.
  10. Nomination of rare & threatened marine species & habitats in the NT.
  11. Direct lobbying of NT Government and marine industries for increased support for marine science in the NT.
  12. Membership drives.


You are invited to become a member of AMSA and the NT Branch. To do this, you can attend one of our upcoming functions and join, or complete the online membership application

NT Branch Committee 2021–2022
(AGM held 10 August 2021)

You may contact any of the committee members at

President Jeffrey Tsang  
Secretary Stacey Kopf  
Treasurer Mark Grubert NT Government Fisheries Division
Student Representative Ruth Patterson  Charles Darwin University
Communications Amy  Kirke Charles Darwin University 
General Committee Rachel Groom Charles Darwin University / Australian Institute of Marine Science
General Committee Samantha Nowland NT Government Fisheries Division
General Committee Alea Rose Charles Darwin University
General Committee Rik Buckworth Sea Sense Australia Pty Ltd
General Committee Vinay Udyawer Australian Institute of Marine Science
General Committee Barry Russell Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory