New South Wales

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.


The NSW Branch of the Australian Marine Sciences Association has over 200 members and is a leading organisation promoting understanding and wise use of the coastal and marine environments of NSW and elsewhere. We have an active student membership and are engaged in the following:

* Writing submissions concerning marine conservation, such as commenting on draft plans of management for local bioregions and MPAs. 
* Hosting regular Branch events at institutions such as Universities, Local and State Government venues to socialise and hear seminars from members and others. 
* Holding regular Council meetings to discuss issues in marine science.
* Supporting student members by holding relevant workshops, supporting national workshops (such as the scientific writing workshop at AMSA National annual scientific conferences) etc.
* Offering careers advice to university and high school students.
* Keeping the media informed of hot issues in marine science.


We urge all those students and scientists in NSW interested in marine science to join both AMSA National and your NSW Branch!

NSW Branch Committee 2021-2022
(AGM held 2 November 2021)

You may contact any of the committee members at

President John Turnbull University of New South Wales
Secretary Francisco (Paco) Martinez-Baena Macquarie Univeristy/TNC
Treasurer Gigi Beretta
University of Technology Sydney
General Committee Penny Berrents Australian Museum
  Troy Gaston University of Newcastle
  Will Figuiera University of Sydney
  Katherine Dafforn Macquarie University
  Nina Schaefer Sydney Institute of Marine Science
  Claire Rowe University of Sydney
  Thomas Fellowes University of Sydney
  Josh Aldridge University of Technology Sydney
  Louise Tosetto Macquarie University
  Rosie Steinberg University of New South Wales
Student Representatives Mitch Gibbs University of Sydney
  Guilia Filippini Macquarie University