Technical Award

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

The Australian Marine Sciences Association Technical Award is intended to recognize outstanding achievements in the field of technical support to marine science in Australia. It was first awarded in 2009. This prize serves to emphasize the valuable contribution to marine science made by those who provide the technical and logistical support services that make much research possible. 

Technical Award Recipients

Annual Call for Nominations – Closes 15 March each year (extended to 15 April for 2024)

This award recognises outstanding achievements in the field of technical support for marine sciences, to celebrate the valuable contribution logistical and support services make to enabling marine research.

The following criteria may be considered when awarding the prize (nominees need not necessarily meet all criteria):

  1. development and application of techniques, equipment and/or systems, which represent advances in marine science and technology;
  2. exceptional and innovative contributions to support those involved in marine research;
  3. sustained, consistent and excellent technical and logistical support to a research group or agency over the preceding decade.

Nominators should submit the form provided below which includes sections to specifically address selection criteria along with a CV for the nominee and any relevant statements of support (using the provided template). Nominations can only be made by AMSA members, but the nominee does not have to be an AMSA member. Self-nominations are not acceptable. There may be more than one nominator.

The nominations will be assessed by a selection panel chaired by the President of AMSA or proxy. The selection panel will examine the nominations and select the recipients of the awards based on the information about the candidates provided by the nominators. Extra information may be sought from specialists in the nominee’s field. There is no requirement for the award to be given every year, if the selection panel, at its discretion, considers that there is no candidate of a sufficiently high standard.

Nominations are held as current for three years. After three years, the nomination needs to be updated and a new nomination submitted as above.

The recipient of the award will be presented with a citation and will be invited to give a short address to the Annual AMSA Conference. Information on the award winner will be published in the AMSA Bulletin and website after the award has been made.

A completed nomination pack should consist of one PDF document including the following:

1. Completed nomination form (download here)
2. CV for the nominee
3. Statements of support on supplied form (max 1 page each)

Note a cover letter is not necessary.
Nominations must be received by the due date 15 March each year (extended to 15 April for 2024).
Late applications will not be considered.
Email your nominations to the AMSA Secretary.

Download the Technical Award nomination form.