AMSA Allen Award Recipients

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.


Recipient University
2023 Juliano Morais Reef Functional Hub
James Cook University
2022 Peter Doll ARC Centre of Exellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University
2021 Not Awarded  
2020 Not Awarded  
2019 Kate Dodds Macquarie University
2018 Francesca Gissi University of Wollongong
2017 Paige Kelly Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania & Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems CRC
2016 Phil Bouchet University of Western Australia
2015 Alicia Sutton Murdoch University
2014 Jane Younger University of Tasmania
2013 Michelle Voyer University of Technology Sydney
2012 Gareth Belton University of Adelaide
2011 Emma Wilkie Macquarie University
2010 Kate Naughton University of Melbourne
2009 Jessica André University of Tasmania
2008 Alex Wyatt University of Western Australia
2008 Ben Pitcher Macquarie University
2007 Alex Rattray Deakin University
2006 Inke Falkner University of Sydney
2005 Krystyna Saunders University of Tasmania
2004 Rebecca McIntosh LaTrobe University
2004 Belinda Thompson University of Tasmania
2003 Adam Pope Deakin University
2003 Brenda McDonald James Cook University
2002 Claire Bennett University of Melbourne
2002 Megan Watson University of New South Wales
2001 Mary-Ann Lea University of Tasmania
2000 Nathan Knott University of Sydney
2000 Napur Smith University of Western Australia
1999 Naomi Parker University of Tasmania/CSIRO
1999 Anne Trevena James Cook University
1999 Leslie Brooker Murdoch University
1998 Jo-Anne Cavanagh Australian Institute of Marine Science
1998 Paulina Selvakumara-Swamy University of Sydney
1997 Regina Counihan University of Queensland