2018 AMSA Award Winners Announced

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

Each year AMSA considers nominations for the highest awards given out by the Association; the Jubilee, Technical and Allen Awards. These prestigious awards recognize the outstanding contribution of scientists, technical officers and students to the pursuit of marine science.  It is with great pleasure that I announce the following winners for 2018.  The contribution of these individuals has gone well above and beyond and we, as an Association, are grateful.  I hope you will join me in congratulating the winners.  I also hope you can join us for the formal presentation at AMSA 2018 in July in Adelaide.

Will Figueira
President, AMSA

AMSA Jubilee Award
This award for excellence in marine research is presented to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to marine research in Australia.
This year’s winner is Distinguished Professor David Bellwood, the world’s foremost expert on the evolution and functional ecology of coral reef fishes.

Allen Award
The Allen Award is to support an outstanding postgraduate student to attend the AMSA Annual conference with the aim of providing the student with the opportunity to gain experience and contacts. By attending the conference, the student will serve an important role as an ambassador for Australian marine science.
This year’s winner is Francesca Gissi, a PhD student in her final year at the University of Wollongong.