Council Members

As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

To contact AMSA Council Members, please use the Contact Us Form here
For a profile of each Councillor, click on each name

OFFICE-BEARERS (2023-2024)
Prof. Chris Frid
Griffith University
School of Environment and Science
QLD 4222
  Dr Rachel Przeslawski
Immediate Past President
Geoscience Australia
Canberra, ACT 2601
Alicia Sutton Dr Alicia Sutton
Carijoa Marine Consulting
Fremantle, WA 6160
Maria Vozzo Dr Maria Vozzo
St Lucia, QLD 4067
Dr Ryan Baring
Flinders University
Bedford Park, SA 5042
Dr Paula Cartwright
Communications Officer
James Cook University (TropWater)
Townsville, QLD 4811
 COUNCILLORS (2023-2024)
Paul Carnell Dr Paul Carnell
RMIT University
Melbourne, VIC 3000
  Dr Penny Berents
Natural Sciences and Biodiversity Conservation
Australian Museum Research Institute
Sydney, NSW 2010
Dr Maylene Loo
Maytrix Solutions
Campbelltown, SA 5074
  Dr Rachel Groom
Charles Darwin University
Casuarina, NT 0810
  Dr John Turnbull
University of New South Wales
Sydney, NSW 2052
Rowan Trebilco Dr Rowan Trebilco
Hobart, TAS 7000
Sue-Ann Watson Dr Sue-Ann Watson
James Cook University &
Queensland Museum Network
Townsville, QLD 4811
  Dr Laura Parker
University of New South Wales
Sydney, NSW 2052
  Dr Mitchell Gibbs
University of Sydney
Camperdown, NSW 2006
Kataya Barrett
Country Needs People
Canberra, ACT 2601