As Australia’s peak professional body for marine scientists from all disciplines and for over 60 years has promoted all aspects of marine science in Australia. AMSA operates with a membership network of individuals and corporate affiliates as a not-for-profit organisation.

The Australian Marine Sciences Association (AMSA), is one of Australia’s oldest marine science professional organisations. In August 1962, 43 marine scientists met to canvas the idea of forming an association of Australian marine scientists. The inaugural meeting of AMSA was held at at the CSIRO Marine Laboratories in Cronulla, NSW on 18-19 May 1963. Although not all were able to participate in the first conference, AMSA had 130 Foundation members. AMSA has grown to be the major professional association for marine scientists from all disciplines in Australia. The annual conference continues to provide an opportunity for delegates from throughout Australia to get together to learn about the latest marine sciences research, and to benefit from the interaction with colleagues from around Australia and overseas.

A brief summary of AMSA’s history

 Five Decades of Shaping the Future of Marine Science in Australia by Lynnath Beckley
 Our Modern History 1984-2013 by Lynnath Beckley and Fred Wells
 History of AMSA (1963-1984) by Jim Thompson


AMSA Honorary Life Members

Honorary Life Members are individuals who are distinguished for their research in marine science or have rendered meritorious service to the Association and is conferred on an individual nominated by Council and elected by a simple majority at a General Meeting.


2023 Anna Murray, Edward Butler, Richard May, Gregory Jenkins
2022 Carol Conacher, Gustaaf Hallegraeff, Neil Loneragan, Tony Miskiewicz
2021 William Gladstone, Karen Gowlett-Holmes, Russell Tait, Stuart Hyland
2019 Peter Rothlisberg
2018 Ian Poiner, Fred Wells, Geoff Westcott
2017 Lesley Clementson, Anne Hoggett, John Hooper, John Lewis
2016 David Macmillan, Bill Reed, Andy Short
2015 Bruce Hodgson, Hugh Kirkman, David Ritz
2014 Peter Millington, Barry Russell
2013 Penny Berents, Alan Butler, Terry Done, Bill McCormick, Richard Thompson
2012 Rob Day, Neville Exxon, Ross Quinn
2011  Pat Hutchings, Norman Quinn
2010 Loisette Marsh
2009 Keith Crook, Ian Kirkegaard, Helene Marsh, Gary Poore
2008 Ross Winstanley, Chris Smalley
2007 Wolfgang Zeidler
2006 Alan Jones, Rod Simpson
2005 Ian Brown, Frank Talbot
2003 John Lucas, Bruce Phillips, Dave Pollard
2002 Alberto Albani, Joe Baker, Isobel Bennett, Raymond Brown, Albert Caton, Alan Cribb, Donald Fielder, Jack Greenwood, Bruce Hamon, George Humphrey, Scoresby Shepherd, Jim Thompson, Jeanette Watson