The Australian Marine Sciences Association Inc. is the peak national professional association for marine scientists
Advancing marine science in Australia
West Australian Nudibranch
Chromodoris westraliensis
© Photo | S Morrison
Bluespotted Goatfish
Upeneichthys vlaminghii
© Photo | S Morrison
© Photo | SARDI
Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV)
© Photo | Deepreef Explorer
© Photo | Olaf
© Photo | Deepreef Explorer

AMSA Membership

AMSA membership is open to those working and studying in all discplines of marine science. Supporting AMSA through membership provides direct support for efforts in marine science research.

Click here for more information

Membership Benefits 

  • Access to member communications (AMSA Bulletin, e-News and other such material)
  • Reduced registration fee at the AMSA Annual Conference
  • Participation in activities of state branches
  • Eligibility for student awards and prizes
  • Opportunity to stand as a council member or office bearer
  • Opportunity to contribute to position statements and submissions on marine science and government policy
  • Affiliate membership of Science and Technology Australia (STA)
  • Networking of scientists for development of research opportunities and multidisciplinary collaboration, and dissemination of knowledge about marine science to the wider public

Click here to apply

View AMSA Privacy Policy


AMSA 2022 Conference


Change and Connections


7 - 11 August 2022



With 600 registered delegates, the 2022 AMSA Conference is turning out to be our most successful event yet! We would like to thank the community for showing their overwhelming support after 2 years of missing out on each other's company!

Unfortunately, we are unable to take any additional registrations at this stage. Please contact the conference secretariat if you would like to be added to the waiting list, which will be reviewed after the publication of the program mid-June.

We look forward to seeing you in Cairns in August!

>> Watch the AMSA 2022 launch video


2022 AMSA Award Winners

Jubilee Award

First awarded in AMSA's Silver Jubilee Year (1988), our professional award recognises excellence in marine research and is presented to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to marine research in Australia.

The 2022 Jubilee Award winner is Dr Peter Scanes, formerly of NSW Department of Planning and Environment, for his significant and impactful contributions to estuarine monitoring and process understanding.

Click here for more details

Emerging Leader in Marine Science Award

This award was established in 2020 and is presented to an early or mid-career scientist in recognition of their outstanding reserach and academic achievements in marine science and the translation of their research for engagement outside of academia and mentoring of other young scientists.

The 2022 Emerging Leader in Marine Science is Dr Kirsty Nash, an affiliated researcher with the Centre for Marine Socioecology in Hobart, for her impactful and interdisciplinary work across coral reef ecosystems, health, science communication, and gender equity in academia. 

Click here for more details

Excellence in Sea Country Award

This award will be inaugurated at the AMSA 2022 Conference in Cairns and is intended to recognise the outstanding contribution or leadership potential of an Indigenous marine scientist, ranger, communicator, or educator to the advancement of marine science and knowledge in Australia. 

The inaugural Excellence in Sea Country Award has two winners, one of whom is Stephan Schnierer for decades of work on Indigenous cultural fisheries practices through research, policy development and rights advocacy.

Click here for more details

The inaugural Excellence in Sea Country Award has two winners, one of whom is Azton Howard from the Bardi Jawi Rangers and Kimberley Land Council for his role in expanding the scope of Ranger activities and engagement of Indigenous Rangers across diverse ecological projects.

Click here for more details

Technical Award

This award is intended to recognize outstanding achievements in the field of technical support to marine science in Australia. It was first awarded in 2009. This prize serves to emphasize the valuable contribution to marine science made by those who provide the technical and logistical support services that make much research possible. 

The 2022 Technical Award winner is Graeme Ewing from the University of Tasmania for his 30 years of support to several research institutes through field sampling, laboratory work, data management and analysis, equipment design, and effective communication and stakeholder engagement.

Click here for more details

Allen Award

This award is intended to recognise an outstanding postgraduate student by providing financial support to attend the upcoming AMSA conference, giving the student the opportunity to gain experience and contacts. 

The 2022 Allen Award winner is Peter Doll from the ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies at James Cook University. The focus of Peter’s PhD research and AMSA conference talk is larval settlement in the destructive crown-of-thorns starfish (CoTS).

Click here for more details